48 Results
48 Results
The boat people —Bala, Sharon, author.

"In the tradition of Lawrence Hill's The Illegal, Chris Cleave's Little Bee, and Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner, and inspired by a real incident, this high-stakes and increasingly timely novel powerfully evokes what i...

The tea planter's wife —Jefferies, Dinah, 1948- author.
Large Print
2017
Availability: 2 of 3

"In 1920s Ceylon (now Sri Lanka), a young Englishwoman marries a charming tea plantation owner and widower, only to discover he's keeping terrible secrets about his past, including what happened to his first wife, that l...

The boat people —Bala, Sharon, author.
Book Club
2018
Availability: 1 of 1

"In the tradition of Lawrence Hill's The Illegal, Chris Cleave's Little Bee, and Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner, and inspired by a real incident, this high-stakes and increasingly timely novel powerfully evokes what i...

Island of a thousand mirrors —Munaweera, Nayomi.

"Before violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka and turned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells the story of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could ask for. A...

A disobedient girl —Freeman, Ru.
Book On CD
2009
Availability: 1 of 1

Chronicles the trials and travails of two Sri Lankan women and their pursuit of freedom. Orphaned then absorbed as a servant into a well-to-do Sri Lankan family at the age of five, Latha Kumari grows up in tandem with th...

Anil's ghost —Ondaatje, Michael, 1943-
Book On CD
2000
Availability: 2 of 2

Sri Lanka, the island nation formerly known as Ceylon, off the southern tip of India, is a country steeped in centuries of cultural achievement and tradition, and forced into the late twentieth century by the ravages of ...

The beach at Galle Road : stories from Sri Lanka —Luloff, Joanna, 1973-

Skillfully weaving together the stories of intersecting lives in Sri Lanka, Luloff explores themes of memory and identity amid the consequences of the Sri Lankan civil war. From different points of view, across generatio...

Anil's ghost —Ondaatje, Michael, 1943-
DAISY Sound Recording
2001
Availability: 0 of 1

Anil Tissera, born in Sri Lanka but educated in the United States and England, returns to her homeland to help discover the source of an organized murder campaign that is contributing to the nation's problems with civil ...

Tamarind sky : a novel —Wheatley, Thelma, author.

"In 1967 Toronto, Selena, a university-educated school teacher from Wales emigrates to Canada and marries Aidan, a man who emigrated with his family from Sri Lanka in 1956 when he was sixteen. Salena had not been conscio...

Dheepan

To escape the civil war in Sri Lanka, a former soldier, a young woman and a little girl pose as a family. They end up settling in a housing project outside Paris. Even though they barely know one another, they try to bui...

What lies between us : a novel —Munaweera, Nayomi, author.

"In the idyllic hill country of Sri Lanka, a young girl grows up with her loving family; but even in the midst of this paradise, terror lurks in the shadows. When tragedy strikes, she and her mother must seek safety by i...

1 2 3