116 Results
116 Results
On Freedom : Four Songs of Care and Constraint. —Nelson, Maggie.

So often deployed as a jingoistic, even menacing rallying cry, or limited by a focus on passing moments of liberation, the rhetoric of freedom both rouses and repels. Does it remain key to our autonomy, justice, and well...

Please Don't Sit on My Bed in Your Outside Clothes : Essays. —Robinson, Phoebe.

NYT bestselling author, comedian, actress, and producer Phoebe Robinson is back with a new essay collection that is equal parts thoughtful, hilarious, and sharp about human connection, race, hair, travel, dating, Black e...

The cruelty is the point : the past, present, and future of Trump's America. —Serwer, Adam.

"Taking joy in suffering is more human than we'd like to admit. The cruelty of the Trump administration's policies and the ritual rhetorical flaying of his targets are intimately connected. Shared cruelty and the delight...

Everything's Trash, But It's Okay —Robinson, Phoebe, author.
EBook
2018

"From New York Times bestselling author and star of 2 Dope Queens, Phoebe Robinson, comes a new, hilarious, and timely essay collection on gender, race, dating, and a world that seems to always be a self-starting Dumpste...

The encyclopedia of trouble and spaciousness —Solnit, Rebecca.

"The incomparable Rebecca Solnit, author of more than a dozen acclaimed books of nonfiction, brings the same dazzling writing to the twenty-nine essays in The Encyclopedia of Trouble and Spaciousness. As the title sugges...

Quantify! : A Crash Course in Smart Thinking —Grimvall, Göran, author.
EBook
2010

"Essays and examples that reveal how scientists figure things out: "An excellent piece of work with lots of fascinating information." -- Brian Clegg, Popular Science Göran Grimvall is determined to help mere mortals und...

Barbarians inside the Gates and Other Controversial Essays —Sowell, Thomas, 1930- author.
EBook
2020

A collection of essays that discusses such issues as the media, immigration, the minimum wage and multiculturalism.

One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter Essays —Koul, Scaachi.
EBook
2017

-- **Finalist for the 2018 Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour**Nominated for the 2017 Goodreads Choice Award For readers of Mindy Kaling, Jenny Lawson and Roxane Gay, a debut collection of fierce and funny essays...

The Last Unknowns : Deep, Elegant, Profound Unanswered Questions About the Universe, the Mind, the Future of Civilization, and the Meaning of Life.
EBook
2019

Discover the universe's last unknowns -- here are the unanswered questions that obsess the world's finest minds" ( The Guardian ) Featuring a foreword by DANIEL KAHNEMAN, Nobel Prize-winning author of Thinking, Fast and ...

Sorry Not Sorry. —Milano, Alyssa.

'Sorry Not Sorry' is Alyssa Milano's sharply observed, uproarious, and deeply intimate ode to the life she has lived and the issues that matter most. Milano is a producer, political activist, and actress best known for h...

Controversial Essays —Sowell, Thomas, 1930- author.
EBook
2013

One of conservatism's most articulate voices dissects today's most important economic, racial, political, education, legal, and social issues, sharing his entertaining and thought-provoking insights on a wide range of co...

Museums at the Crossroads? : Essays on Cultural Institutions in a Time of Change —Lohman, Jack, 1958- author.
EBook
2019

In this collection of illuminating essays, Jack Lohman, chief executive officer of the Royal British Columbia Museum, shares his views on the role of museums in the various cultures of the world, on the importance of arc...

A Burst of Light : and Other Essays —Lorde, Audre, author.
EBook
2017

The self-described black feminist lesbian mother poet used a mixture of prose, theory, poetry, and experience to interrogate oppressions and uplift marginalized communities. She was one of the first black feminists to ta...

Silence Is Not the Answer —Johnson, George S., author.
EBook
2019

IN THIS AGE OF CONFUSION, FEAR, AND CONFLICT, PROPHETIC VOICES URGE US TO WAKE UP If you've ever felt like you don't have enough information about an issue, that you should wait to see what others do first, or that your ...

Bad feminist essays —Gay, Roxane, author.
Restricted DAISY Zip (CELA)
2017

A collection of essays spanning politics, criticism, and feminism from one of the most-watched young cultural observers of her generation, Roxane Gay. She takes us through the journey of her evolution as a woman (Sweet V...

Thunder in the mountains : a personal journey through America's gun culture —Collins, Craig K., 1960-

"In this beautifully written and powerful memoir, author Craig K. Collins ushers readers down a remarkable path--one that wends from the American frontier to present-day suburbia. Along the way, he explores the meaning o...

1 2 3 ...