24 Results
24 Results
The poet X : a novel —Acevedo, Elizabeth, author.

Harlem. Ever since her body grew into curves, Xiomara Batista has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. She pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the w...

The poet's dog —MacLachlan, Patricia, author.

From Newbery Medal winner Patricia MacLachlan comes a poignant story about two children, a poet, and a dog and how they help one another survive loss and recapture love. "Just what I needed," raves Brightly.com. "It's a ...

Fly away —MacLachlan, Patricia.

While in North Dakota helping her Aunt Frankie prepare for a possible flood, Lucy finds her voice as a poet with the help of her two-year-old brother Teddy, the rest of their family, and a few cows.

The tiny kite of Eddie Wing —Trottier, Maxine.

Too poor to buy a real kite, Eddie flies an imaginary one that catches the attention of Old Chan, the wealthy patron of the kite festival.

Also known as Harper —Leal, Ann Haywood.

Writing poetry helps fifth-grader Harper Lee Morgan cope with her father's absence, being evicted, and having to skip school to care for her brother while their mother works, and things look even brighter after she befri...

The case of the missing action figure & other mysteries —Tashjian, Janet, author.

Marty Frye, a seven-year-old who likes to read poetry and talk in rhymes, solves three separate mysteries for a classmate, a toy store owner, and his younger sister.

Freedom's pen : a story based on the life of freed slave and author Phillis Wheatley —Lawton, Wendy.

A fictionalized biography of the girl who was brought to America from Gambia as a slave and who later gained fame as an African American poet of great renown, from her time in Africa until she gained her freedom.

The best worst poet ever —Stohler, Lauren, author, illustrator.

"Cat and Pug are each determined to become the World's Best Poet, no matter what it takes. But can these two rivals discover the wonderful joy of writing together?"-- Provided by publisher.

In Emily's garden : little poet Emily Dickinson —Coombs, Kate.

Avid gardener and poet Emily Dickinson collected 424 pressed flower specimens and wrote nearly 1800 poems in her lifetime, with nature and plants inspiring many of her beloved works. Lines and couplets from Dickinson's p...

The Poet X : A Novel —Acevedo, Elizabeth, author.
EAudiobook
2018

"Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, Xiomara Batista has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. She pours all her frustr...

The Poet X —Acevedo, Elizabeth, author.
EBook
2018

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award! Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New...

The half-pipe kidd —Acheson, Alison, 1964-

Ogilvie Kidd rides freestyle bike and writes poetry. Tony Jones, the world's best freestyler, is coming to town. What's he going to think about a bike freak who's also a poet?

The language of stars —Hawes, Louise, author.

After an incident involving the vandalism of a cottage museum that once belonged to famous poet Rufus Baylor, sixteen-year-old Sarah is sentenced to community service and a poetry appreciation course taught by Baylor him...

My Uncle Emily —Yolen, Jane.

In 1881 Amherst, Massachusetts, six-year-old Gilbert finds it both challenging and wonderful to spend time with his aunt, the reclusive poet Emily Dickinson, who lives next door.

A poet's bird garden —Montenegro, Laura Nyman.

After Chirpie the bird escapes from her cage and flies into a tree, a group of poets decides that the best way to entice her down is to create a garden full of seeds, water, hiding places, and materials for building a ne...

Defiance —Hobbs, Valerie. 1941-

While vacationing in the country, eleven-year-old Toby, a cancer patient, learns some important lessons about living and dying from an elderly poet and her cow.

Fallout —Tate, Nikki, 1962-
Ebook
2011

After the death of her sister, Tara struggles to deal with her guilt through slam poetry.

The Case of the busted video games and other mysteries —Tashjian, Janet, author.

"In this new collection of mysteries, everyone's favorite poet detective is back in action. When a prankster tangles all the school jump ropes into knots and gym is canceled, Marty pins down the culprit. When five machin...

1 2