17 Results
17 Results
Islandborn —Díaz, Junot, 1968- author, narrator.
Book + Audio
2018
Availability: 2 of 2

"Lola was just a baby when her family left the Island, so when she has to draw it for a school assignment, she asks her family, friends, and neighbors about their memories of her homeland ... and in the process, comes up...

The poet X : a novel —Acevedo, Elizabeth, author.

Harlem. Ever since her body grew into curves, Xiomara Batista has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. She pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the w...

De cómo la Tía Lola aprendió a enseñar —Alvarez, Julia.

Juanita and Miguel's great aunt, Tía Lola, comes from the Dominican Republic to help take care of them after their parents divorce, and soon she is so involved in their small Vermont community that when her visa expires...

De cómo tía Lola terminó empezando otra vez —Alvarez, Julia.

Worried that Papa Espada cannot find a job, Tía Lola, Juanita, Miguel, and the "Sword" sisters decide to start a bed and breakfast at Colonel Charlebois's Vermont house.

Never look back —Rivera, Lilliam, author.

A modern retelling of the myth, Orpheus and Eurydice, in which Eury leaves Puerto Rico for the Bronx, haunted by losing all to Hurricane Maria and by evil spirit Ato, and meets a bachata-singing charmer, Pheus.

De cómo tía Lola vino de visita a quedarse —Alvarez, Julia.

Esta novela "cuenta la deliciosa historia de una familia dominicana, instalada en Vermont, que recibe la visita de una pariente muy especial. La irresistible, incontrolable e incluso mágica tía Lola transforma la vida ...

The Poet X : A Novel —Acevedo, Elizabeth, author.
EAudiobook
2018

"Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, Xiomara Batista has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. She pours all her frustr...

Ana María Reyes does not live in a castle —Burgos, Hilda Eunice, author.

"With a new sibling (her fourth) on the way and a big piano recital on the horizon, Dominican-American Ana María Reyes tries to win a scholarship to a New York City private school"-- Provided by publisher.

The cot in the living room —Burgos, Hilda Eunice, author.

"A young Dominican American girl in New York City moves from jealousy to empathy as her parents babysit children whose families work the overnight shift in this honest and warm picture book debut"-- Provided by publisher...

Lola —Díaz, Junot, 1968- author.

Todos los niños de la escuela de Lola venían de otra parte. Era una escuela de lugares lejanos. Así que cuando la maestra de Lola pide a los estudiantes que hagan un dibujo del lugar de donde emigraron sus familias, t...

The Poet X —Acevedo, Elizabeth, author.
EBook
2018

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award! Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New...

Darius & Twig —Myers, Walter Dean, 1937-2014, author.
EBook
2013

New York Times bestselling author and Printz Award winner Walter Dean Myers once again connects with teenagers everywhere in Darius and Twig, a novel about friendship and needing to live one's own dream. This touching an...

Point guard —Lupica, Mike, author.

"It's basketball season for the home team but Gus must wrestle with prejudice when he's the only one bothered by Cassie joining the boys' team and his teammate Steve makes fun of Gus's Dominican heritage"-- Provided by p...

Strike zone —Lupica, Mike, author.

Twelve-year-old Nick García dreams of winning MVP of his summer baseball league, of finding a cure for his sister, of meeting his hero, Yankee pitcher Michael Arroyo, and of no longer living in fear of the government an...

Gold medal winter —Freitas, Donna, author.

Esperanza Flores's place on the United States Olympic figure skating team has come at the expense of an injured skater, so in addition to the pressure of sudden fame and outsized expectations Espi has to deal with the re...

Sosa's homers —Walsh, Caroline E.

Carlos and his family move to Chicago from the Domican Republic, where Carlos gets to meet Sammy Sosa.

Luis paints the world —Farish, Terry, author.

"Nico doesn't have to join the Army to see the world--that's what younger brother Luis tries to show by painting a mural in the neighborhood alley. But Nico is deployed and his small brother paints the world in the alley...

1