12 Results
12 Results
The new Jim Crow : mass incarceration in the age of colorblindness —Alexander, Michelle, author.

"Seldom does a book have the impact of The New Jim Crow. Since it was first published in 2010, it has been the winner of numerous awards and has spent nearly 250 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list. It has been c...

What doesn't kill you makes you blacker : a memoir in essays —Young, Damon, 1978- author.

For Damon Young, existing while Black is an extreme sport. The act of possessing black skin while searching for space to breathe in America is enough to induce a ceaseless state of angst where questions such as "How shou...

Sure, I'll be your Black friend : notes from the other side of the fist bump —Philippe, Ben, author.

In the vein of 'What Doesnt Kill You Makes You Blacker' and 'We Are Never Meeting in Real Life', Ben Philippes candid memoir-in-essays chronicles a lifetime of being the Black friend (see also: foreign kid, boyfriend, co...

3 1/2 minutes, ten bullets

On Black Friday 2012, four African-American teenagers stopped at a gas station to buy gum and cigarettes. One of them, Jordan Davis, argued with Michael Dunn, a white man parked beside them, over the volume of music play...

Twisted : my dreadlock chronicles —Ashe, Bert.

""A personal account of an African-American professor's mid-life experiences when he decides to grow dreadlocks, with a cultural and political history of dreadlocks"--Provided by publisher"-- Provided by publisher.

Big black penis misadventures in race and masculinity —Taylor, Shawn.
EBook
2008

Being black and male is a serious business, but its absurd contradictions are often too funny for words. This book leads readers on a no-holds-barred tour of the author's masculine development, acknowledging some deep bu...

The new Jim Crow : mass incarceration in the age of colorblindness —Alexander, Michelle.
Book On MP3
2015
Availability: 1 of 1

The author, a litigator turned legal scholar, presents her argument for characterizing our current U.S. criminal justice system as our society's latest system of racial control.

3 1/2 minutes, ten bullets
Blu-ray
2017
Availability: 1 of 1

On November 23, 2012, a black seventeen-year-old named Jordan Davis and three friends drove into a gas station in Jacksonville, Florida. Davis and his friends go into a verbal altercation with 45-year-old Michael Dun, a ...

Broken on all sides race, mass incarceration & new visions for criminal justice in the U.S. : a documentary

"More African Americans are under 'correctional' (prison) control today than were enslaved in 1850. Why? The movie explores mass incarceration across the U.S. and the intersection of race, poverty, and the criminal justi...

Writing to save a life : the Louis Till file —Wideman, John Edgar, author.

An award-winning writer traces the life of the father of iconic Civil Rights martyr Emmett Till - a man who was executed by the Army ten years before Emmett's murder. An evocative and personal exploration of individual a...

Writing to save a life the Louis Till file —Wideman, John Edgar, author.
Book On CD
2016
Availability: 1 of 1

An award-winning writer traces the life of the father of iconic Civil Rights martyr Emmett Till, a man who was executed by the Army ten years before Emmett's murder. An evocative and personal exploration of individual an...

1