Michael Wood's story of England

Published 2012
Item Details

In this ground-breaking series, charismatic presenter Michael Wood tells the story of one place - the village of Kibworth, Leicestershire - throughout the whole of English history. Located in the very heart of England, Kibworth has lived through the Black Death, the Civil War and the Industrial Revolution, and was even bombed in World War II. With the help of the local people and using archaeology, landscape, language and DNA, Michael Wood uncovers the lost history of this village from the Roman era to the present day. Intertwining the local and national narratives, he creates a moving and informative picture of one local community throughout history.

Publisher, Date:
[United States] : BBC Worldwide ; Burbank, CA : distributed in the USA and Canada by Warner Home Video, c2012.
2 videodiscs (ca. 353 mins) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.
Target Audience Note:
Other Title:
Story of England [DVD]
Title from container.
Based on the 2010 book Story of England.
Originally broadcast as a BBC television program in 2010.
Producer: Rebecca Dobbs, editor: Gerry Branigan, music composed by Howard Davidson.
DVD ; Widescreen (16:9) presentation ; Dolby Digital sound.
For private home use only.
Includes English subtitles for the deaf and hard of hearing.
Disc 1. Episodes 1-3.
Disc 2. Episodes 4-6.
Publisher or Distributor Number:
More Information