You cannot start without me Valery Gergiev, maestro

Published 2009
Item Details

This documentary presents a portrait of Valeriĭ Gergiev the man and artist; it reveals how Gergiev combines an impossible international conducting schedule with his job as artistic director of the Mariinsky Opera and Ballet, in St. Petersburg.

Publisher, Date:
[Paris] : BelAir Classiques, c2009.
1 videodisc (87 min) : sd., col., with b&w sequences ; 4 3/4 in.
Target Audience Note:
Other Title:
Valery Gergiev, maestro [DVD]
Original documentary produced in 2008.
Program notes in English inserted in container.
Special features include fragments of rehearsals and actual performances with Gergiev conducting Rite of Spring by Igor Stravinsky in performance with the London Symphony Orchestra, the Scythian Suite by Sergey Prokofiev in performance with the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, the opera Eugene Onegin by Tchaikovsky in production with the Metropolitan Opera, Symphony no. 5 by Tchaikovsky performed by the orchestra of the Mariinsky Theatre, St. Petersburg, and more (69 min.).
Supervising producers, Jinko Tsunashima, Kristin Lovejoy ; sound editors, Donald Klocek, Dave Ellinwood.
Yefim Bronfman, Renée Fleming, Dmitri Hvorostovsky, Leonidas Kovakos, Uliana Lopatkina, Anna Netrebko, various artists ; Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra ; London Symphony Orchestra ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra ; Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra ; Valery Gergiev, conductor.
Interviews and commentary in multiple rehearsals: Valery Gergiev, conductor, Mariinsky Theatre director; Doug Sheldon, manager for Mr. Gergiev ; Uliana Lopatkina, dancer with Mariinsky Ballet ; members of the Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra ; Anna Netrebko, opera singer with the Mariinsky Theatre ; I.A. Musin, conductor, professor (archival shooting) ; members of the London Symphony Orchestra ; Christopher Forbes ; Alexei Kurdin, Russian Finance Minister ; German Grett, Russian Minister of Economy.
DVD 9, NTSC, region code: 0 ; aspect ratio: 16:9 ; PCM stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 sound formats.
In English and Russian ; with optional subtitles in German, English, Japanese, French, Russian, and Spanish.
Publisher or Distributor Number:
EDV 1681
More Information