True blood. The complete first season

Published 2009
Item Details

The small town of Bon Temps, Louisiana boasts a wide array of colorful locals. Sookie Stackhouse is a sweet and innocent waitress who hides her powerful ability to read minds. Bill Compton is a 173 year-old vampire who's just moved back to town. Sookie's brother Jason is a ladies' man who can't seem to stay out of trouble. Tough-as-nails Tara is Sookie's loyal best friend and Sam is the owner of Merlotte's who tries to keep his feelings for Sookie to himself. Lafayette is a man about town who's always cooking up something illicit.

Publisher, Date:
[New York, NY] : Home Box Office ; Burbank, CA : Distributed by Warner Home Video, c2009.
5 videodiscs (ca. 720 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.
Target Audience Note:
CHVR: 18A.
Based on the Sookie Stackhouse novels by Charlaine Harris.
Created for television by Alan Ball.
Originally broadcast on HBO television during the 2008 season.
Special features include "In focus: vampires in America:" a mock-u-mentary about vampires in America; "Tru blood beverage ads:" French and American "Tru blood" beverage ads; "Vampire service ads:" ads for vampire dating, vampire hotels and lawyers that service vampires; "Public service announcements:" both pro- and anti-vampire rights; six audio commentaries with cast and crew, including executive production and creator Alan Ball, Anna Paquin and Stephen Moyer; series index.
Anna Paquin, Stephen Moyer, Sam Trammell, Ryan Kwanten, Rutina Wesley, Chris Bauer, Nelsan Ellis, Jim Parrack, Carrie Preston, Michael Raymond-James, William Sanderson, Alexander Skarsgård.
DVD, NTSC, region 1, widescreen (1.78:1); Dolby Digital 5.1 surround, Dolby Digital 2.0 stereo.
English (Dolby 5.1), dubbed French (Dolby 5.1) or dubbed Spanish (Dolby 2.0) dialogue with optional English, French, Brazilian Portuguese or Spanish subtitles; closed-captioned in English.
Disc 1. Episode 1: Strange love / written and directed by Alan Ball
Episode 2: The first taste / written by Alan Ball ; directed by Scott Winant.
Disc 2. Episode 3: Mine / written by Alan Ball ; directed by John Dahl
Episode 4: Escape from Dragon House / written by Brian Buckner ; directed by Michael Lehmann.
Disc 3. Episode 5: Sparks fly out / written by Alexander Woo ; directed by Dan Minahan
Episode 6: Cold ground / written by Raelle Tucker ; directed by Nick Gomez
Episode 7: Burning house of love / written by Chris Offutt ; directed by Marcos Siega.
Disc 4. Episode 8: The fourth man in the fire / written by Alexander Woo ; directed by Michael Lehmann
Episode 9: Plaisir d'amour / written by Brian Buckner ; directed by Anthony M. Hemingway
Episode 10: I don't wanna know / written by Chris Offutt ; directed by Scott Winant.
Disc 5. Episode 11: To love is to bury / written and directed by Nancy Oliver
Episode 12: You'll be the death of me / written by Raelle Tucker ; directed by Alan Ball
Bonus features.
Publisher or Distributor Number:
More Information