5 available of 5 items

The story of a 21st century city run by a "super trustee" and his collaborators who live in a paradise-like garden. Workers are totally enslaved by machines and condemned to live underground. In the midst of this misery, a young woman, Maria, arises and attempts to inspire the workers to throw off their oppressors.

Item Details
Authoritarianism -- Fiction.
Dystopias -- Fiction.
Harbou, Thea von, 1888-1954. Metropolis -- Film adaptations.
Harbou, Thea von, 1888-1954. Metropolis -- Television adaptations.
Robots -- Fiction.
Social classes -- Fiction.
Social conflict -- Fiction.
Feature films.
Science fiction films.
Silent films.
Other Authors:
Abel, Alfred, 1879-1937.
Freund, Karl, 1890-1969.
Fröhlich, Gustav.
George, Heinrich, 1893-1946.
Harbou, Thea von, 1888-1954.
Harbou, Thea von, 1888-1954. Metropolis.
Helm, Brigitte, 1908-1996.
Kino International Corporation.
Klein-Rogge, Rudolf.
Lang, Fritz, 1890-1976.
Loos, Theodor, 1883-1954.
Pommer, Erich, 1889-1966.
Rasp, Fritz, 1891-1976.
Rittau, Günther.
UFA (Firm)
Restored authorized ed.
Publisher, Date:
New York : Kino on Video, c2002.
1 videodisc (ca. 124 min.) : sd., b&w ; 4 3/4 in.
Target Audience Note:
Other Title:
Fritz Lang's Metropolis [DVD]
Restored under the supervision of the Murnau Foundation and with the original 1927 orchestral score by Gottfried Huppertz.
Based on the novel by Thea von Harbou.
The number of discs may vary.
Originally produced by UFA as a motion picture in 1927.
Special features: 43 min. documentary on the making of the movie, featurette of the digital restoration, photo galleries, missing scenes, architectural sketches, poster artwork, cast and crew biographies.
For specific added features see container or interactive features menu while viewing disc.
Photography, Karl Freund, Gunther Rittau ; music, Gottfried Huppertz ; Enno Patalas, commentary.
Brigitte Helm, Gustav Fröhlich, Rudolph Klein-Rogge, Alfred Abel, Theodor Loos, Heinrich George, Fritz Rasp, Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Saarbrüchen.
DVD ; full screen presentation.
For private home use only.
Silent with subtitles in English, French and Spanish; audio commentary in English, German, French and Spanish; musical accompaniment.
Publisher or Distributor Number:
Link to PAC
More Information