Published 2004
Item Details

Includes "The making of Plainsong", Based on the best-selling novel. National Book Award Finalist. A heartstrong story of family and romance, tribulation and tenacity, set on the High Plains east of Denver. In the small town of Holt, Colorado, a high school teacher is confronted with raising his two boys alone after their mother retreats first to the bedroom, then altogether. A teenage girl-her father long since disappeared, her mother unwilling to have her in the house - is pregnant, alone herself, with nowhere to go. And out in the country, two brothers, elderly bachelors, work the family homestead, the only world they've ever known. From these unsettled lives emerges a vision of life, and of the town and landscape that bind them together - their fates somehow overcoming the powerful circumstances of place and station, their confusion, curiosity, dignity and humor intact and resonant. As the milieu widens to embrace fully four generations, Kent Haruf displays an emotional and aesthetic authority to rival the past masters of a classic American tradition.

Publisher, Date:
[United States] Hallmark Home Entertainment Family Home Entertainment 2004.
1 videodisc (98 min.) sd., col. 12 cm.
Target Audience Note:
Suggested rating: PG.
Other Title:
Hallmark hall of fame.
Based on the novel by Kent Haruf.
Home use only. Public performance rights NOT included.
Includes "The making of Plainsong".
Music by Lawrence Shragge, produced by Orly Adelson, directed by Richard Pearce.
Aidan Quinn, Rachel Griffiths.
DVD ; 5.1 Dolby Surround.
Closed-captioned for the hearing impaired.
Publisher or Distributor Number:
More Information