Alfred Hitchcock, the master of the macabre featuring Murder!, Rich and strange, The sorcerer's apprentice, Sabotage, The farmer's wife, The lodger.

Published 2010
Item Details

Murder!: Based on the novel and play called Enter Sir John by Clemence Dane and Helen Simpson. It was Hitchcock's third all-talkie film. When a woman (Norah Baring) is convicted of murder, one of the men selected to serve on the murder trial jury (Herbert Marshall) believes the accused, an aspiring actress, is innocent of the crime and takes it upon himself to apprehend the real killer.

5 videodiscs (approximately 8 hr.) : black and white ; sound, silent ; 4 3/4 in.
digital video
video file DVD
Target Audience Note:
CHVR: Not rated.
Other Title:
Alfred Hitchcock : the master of the macabre
Alfred Hitchcock, Clemence Dane, Helen Simpson, Alma Reville, Val Valentine, Dale Collins, Robert Bloch, Joseph Conrad, Eden Phillpotts, Marie Belloc Lowndes.
Henry Kendall, Joan Barry, Sylvia Sidney, Jameson Thomas, Lilian Hall-Davis.
In English, with English or Spanish subtitles.
DVD 1. Murder! (1930 ; 104 min.)
DVD 2. Rich and strange (1931 ; 92 min.)
DVD 3. The sorcerer's apprentice (episode from Alfred Hitchcock presents, season 7, aired Jan. 1, 1962 ; 30 min.)
DVD 4. Sabotage (1936 ; 76 min.)
DVD 5. The farmer's wife (1928 ; 129 min.) ; The lodger (1927 ; 74 minutes).
Publisher or Distributor Number:
DGE9 50965
More Information